One Word Theme for 2012

My word for 2012 is humility. Why? Because I desperately need some.

I find that most of my troubles come because of my pride and arrogance. Especially as a parent, it’s so easy to lord it over my kids, who really don’t know much. But that doesn’t mean I need to be mean spirited or haughty when I teach them. I want to teach them with love and grace. With a gentle spirit. God has entrusted me with these two little precious souls, and I don’t want to ruin them! I don’t want them to feel small.

For me, pride and arrogance brings rigidity and judgement. It has to be my way. Your way is always wrong. Or there is always a reason why my way is slightly better. In the end, it doesn’t matter. Being right is so overrated. I want to stop the endless comparing and judging that happens. I am not in competition with my husband or with my kids, or with other moms, or with other employees. STOP comparing myself with others.

I was supposed to have learned a lot about love last year. But to be honest, I think love is too above me. It’s too lofty. I need something more tangible. Maybe it’s because I need some humility first, before I can learn about love?

I do think love and humility go together very nicely. Love is humble. Love is not proud. Love doesn’t judge. Love chooses to lower itself.

So, there it is. My word for the year is humility.

I wonder what God has in store for me to learn this year.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. otrgirl
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 12:50:55

    I’ve seen other people doing the theme word idea. I like the focus it provides. Humility seems like a challenging, but good word. I think a lot about Phillipians 2 anytime I think about humility. I admire your courage!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

